Unfortunately, many Utah drivers do not know their car insurance benefits after a car accident and make costly mistakes. But before we talk about car insurance benefits in Utah let’s talk about how car insurance works in Utah. When it comes to car accidents in Utah, someone will be at fault. The fault issue applies only to property damage. This means that car accident victims can have their property damage claim handled by their own car insurance provider and their insurance company will eventually be reimbursed by the at-fault party’s insurance company.
Utah has a no-fault insurance system for auto accidents when it comes to bodily injury. This means that each party’s own car insurance company pays for a minimum of $3,000 in medical bills (ambulance, hospital, chiropractic care, x-rays, CT scans, MRIs, physical therapy, concussion therapy, etc.). This initial $3,000 for medical bills is also referred to as PIP (Personal Injury Protection). Utah drivers who want more protection can purchase additional PIP coverage with limits up to $100,000 in coverage. Once you settle your case or get a judgment, your car insurance company is reimbursed for the $3,000 or the amount of PIP they paid on your behalf.
So, what are my car insurance benefits after a car accident in Utah?
In the state of Utah, the law requires all auto insurance companies to provide the following benefits in an auto insurance policy. Also, by law your car insurance company cannot raise your car insurance premium if you take advantage of these benefits.
- A minimum of $3,000 in PIP for medical expenses per person
- Up to $20 per day for loss of essential household services due to injuries
- Replacement of infant or child car seat
- $250 per week for lost wages due to injuries sustained in an auto accident
Access to PIP Benefits Despite
Utah law requires car owners to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance so you are eligible for PIP benefits regardless of:
- who is at fault
- liability coverage or full coverage
- your driver’s license status
- your legal status
- who is on the auto insurance policy
- the number of passengers involved
- who owns the vehicle as long as authorization was given by the owner to dive it
When and How to File a Car Accident Insurance Claim in Utah
Take action and file your claim right away if you have been involved in a non-work-related car accident. First, you should start by filing a car accident insurance/PIP claim with the vehicle insurance that covers the vehicle you were in during the accident. You will be given a claim number when you file the claim. You will also be asked to fill out a PIP Application to complete the claim process. The information reported on the PIP Application will go to your car insurance adjuster and support your PIP claim. To make this process easier for you, at P.I. Help Injury Clinic- The Car Accident Chiropractors in Salt Lake City (Murray), UT, we are ready to help you file a car accident insurance claim/PIP claim. We are genuinely here to help you. Please give us a call now 801.210.5050 to effortlessly file your claim.
If you have been in a minor or severe car, truck, or semi-truck accident and are thinking about opening a personal injury claim please ask us for a referral to a car accident lawyer. The chiropractors and physical rehabilitation team at P.I. HELP Injury Clinic- The Auto Accident Chiropractors in Salt Lake City (Murray), UT have the experience that allows us to treat neck pain, whiplash, headaches, muscle stiffness, back pain, numbness, and tingling, shoulder pain and knee pain after a car, truck, or semi-truck accident.
P.I. HELP Injury Clinics- The Auto Accident Chiropractor in Salt Lake City (Murray), UT
154 E. Myrtle Ave. Suite 100, Murray, UT 84107
Call us or send us a text today at (801) 210-5050